Photo: Jonathan Ferrey/NASCAR via Getty Images

Previewing the NASCAR Xfinity Series Championship Race

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer

The last time the NASCAR Xfinity Series visited Homestead-Miami Speedway, Kyle Larson took home the victory. Larson held off fellow NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regular, Austin Dillon, to win by nearly one second. Brian Scott was the highest finishing Xfinity Series regular in fourth.

At the same time, Chris Buescher clinched the 2015 NASCAR Xfinity Series Championship with an 11th place finish. Chase Elliott finished second in points, just 15-points behind Buescher.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers in the field this weekend include Aric Almirola, Austin Dillon, Brad Keselowski, Cole Whitt, Kyle Larson, Matt Dibenedetto, and Ryan Blaney. NASCAR Camping World Truck Series regulars in the field this weekend include Brandon Brown, Cole Custer, Jordan Anderson, Matt Tifft, Travis Kvapil, and Timmy Hill.

Xfinity Series Championship Four

The NASCAR Xfinity Series Championship has come down to four drivers at Homestead-Miami Speedway. The four drivers are Daniel Suarez, Elliott Sadler, Erik Jones, and Justin Allgaier.

Both Jones and Suarez drive Toyotas for Joe Gibbs Racing, while Allgaier and Sadler drive Chevrolets for JR Motorsports.

Jones, Sadler and Suarez are the only three Xfinity Series regulars who have earned victories this season with nine wins between them.

Sadler is without his normal crew chief, Kevin Meendering after two lugnuts were found to be loose at the end of the race in Phoenix International Raceway. Mike Bumgarner will serve as the crew chief of the No. 1 OneMain Financial Chevrolet Camaro.

What to Watch For

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • Will a Cup Series regular win again, or will an Xfinity Series Championship contender take the win? Or will another play the role of spoiler?
  • Who will win the 2016 NASCAR Xfinity Series Championship?
  • Austin Dillon will be in the No. 2 Rheem Chevrolet Camaro for Richard Childress Racing.
  • Cole Custer will be in the No. 5 HAAS Automation Chevrolet Camaro for JR Motorsports.
  • Matt Tifft will be in the No. 18 NOS Energy Drink Toyota Camry for Joe Gibbs Racing.
  • Ryan Blaney will be in the No. 22 Fleetwood/REV Group Ford Mustang for Team Penske.
  • Corey LaJoie returns in the Youtheory No. 24 Toyota Camry for JGL Racing.
  • Kyle Larson returns for another start in the No. 42 ENEOS Chevrolet Camaro for Chip Ganassi Racing.
  • Alex Bowman will be in the JR Motorsports ‘All-Star No. 88 Car.’ This will also be Bowman’s 50th career NASCAR Xfinity Series start.

Where and When to Watch (All Times Eastern)

Practice 2: Friday, November 18, at 5:00 p.m. on NBCSN

Qualifying: Saturday, November 19, at 11:15 a.m. on NBCSN and NBC Sports Live Extra (Online)

Race: Saturday, November 19, at 3:00 p.m. on NBC, NBC Sports Live Extra (Online), SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, and the Motor Racing Network.

Tags : , , , , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *