Photo: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Previewing the NASCAR Xfinity Series Coca-Cola Firecracker 250 at Daytona

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer

Entering the Coca-Cola Firecracker 250 at Daytona International Speedway, the 15th race of the season, only three of the NASCAR Xfinity Series regulars (Justin Allgaier, Ryan Reed, and William Byron) have scored victories during the 2017 season. The restrictor plate-style of racing gives more teams a chance at earning a victory and a potential Playoff berth. Elliott Sadler leads the Championship Point standings, despite not scoring a win, he leads with 25 points over his JR Motorsports teammate, Allgaier.

The last time the Xfinity Series visited Daytona International Speedway, Reed took the victory in exciting fashion. Reed lead just nine laps on his way to victory, beating Kasey Kahne to the line by 0.218 seconds.

Joey Logano and Reed are the only former winners in the NASCAR Xfinity Series at Daytona. Logano won at Daytona once, in 2011, and Reed twice, in 2015 and 2017.

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series drivers in Friday night’s field include Daniel Suarez, Erik Jones, Logano, and Ty Dillon.

Xfinity Series Championship

Allgaier, Reed, Elliott Sadler, Daniel Hemric, Brendan Gaughan and Byron are the only NASCAR Xfinity Series regulars that have Playoff points. Allgaier has seven Playoff points, Byron has six, Reed has five, while Sadler has three Playoff points. Both Gaughan and Hemric have a single Playoff point each.

In the Coca-Cola Firecracker 250 at Daytona, the first stage ends on lap 30, the second stage on lap 60, and the final stage on lap 100.

What to Watch For in the Coca-Cola Firecracker 250

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • Ben Kennedy returns to the No. 2 Rheem Chevrolet Camaro for Richard Childress Racing.
  • Ty Dillon returns to the No. 3 Bass Pro Shops/Tracker Boats Chevrolet Camaro for Richard Childress Racing.
  • Justin Allgaier will have Trademark Nitrogen as the primary sponsor of his No. 7 JR Motorsports Chevrolet Camaro.
  • Daniel Suarez returns in the No. 18 ISBA Toyota Camry for Joe Gibbs Racing.
  • Erik Jones returns to the No. 20 GameStop/Turtle Beach Toyota Camry for Joe Gibbs Racing.
  • Joey Logano makes his first start of the year in the No. 22 Discount Tire Ford Mustang for Team Penske.
  • Jeb Burton returns to the No. 24 Estes Express Lines Toyota Camry for JGL Racing.
  • Scott Lagasse, Jr. returns in a third JGL Racing entry, the No. 26 Alert Today Florida/Florida Lottery Toyota Camry.
  • Tyler Reddick returns to the No. 42 BBR / Jason Aldean Chevrolet Camaro for Chip Ganassi Racing.
  • Casey Mears returns in the No. 98 Fresh From Florida Ford Mustang for Biagi-Denbeste Racing.

Where and When to Watch (All Times Eastern)

Practice 1: Thursday, June 29, at 2:00 p.m. on NBCSN

Practice 2: Thursday, June 29, at 4:00 p.m. on NBCSN

Qualifying: Friday, June 30, at 2:00 p.m. on NBCSN

Race: Friday, June 30, at 7:30 p.m. on NBCSN, NBC Sports Live Xtra, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, and the Motor Racing Network.

Tags : , , , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.