Photo: Chris Trotman/NASCAR via Getty Images

Previewing the NASCAR Xfinity Series Pocono Green 250 at Pocono

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer

The last time the NASCAR Xfinity Series visited Pocono Raceway, Kyle Larson took the victory as the race was rain shortened. Erik Jones finished second.

Larson is the only former winner in the NASCAR Xfinity Series at Pocono.

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series drivers in the field this weekend include Brad Keselowski, Daniel Suarez, Kyle Larson, Paul Menard, and Ty Dillon.

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series regular Jordan Anderson is also entered in this Saturday’s race.

Xfinity Series Championship

Justin Allgaier, Ryan Reed, Elliott Sadler, Daniel Hemric, and William Byron are the only four NASCAR Xfinity Series regulars that have Playoff points. Allgaier has seven Playoff points, Reed has five Playoff points, while Sadler has two Playoff points. Both Byron and Hemric have a single Playoff point each.

At Pocono, the first stage ends on lap 25, the second stage on lap 50, and the final stage on lap 100.

All Drivers’ Broadcast

For this weekend, the broadcast team will be made exclusively of Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series drivers. Kevin Harvick will assume the role of play-by-play announcers with Joey Logano and Clint Bowyer as race analysts. Ryan Blaney, Erik Jones, and Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. will serve as pit road reporters. Inside the ‘Hollywood Hotel’ will be Danica Patrick and Denny Hamlin.

What to Watch For

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • Elliott Sadler will have Dale’s Pale Ale on his No. 1 Chevrolet Camaro for JR Motorsports.
  • Paul Menard returns to the No. 2 Richmond / Menards Chevrolet Camaro for Richard Childress Racing.
  • Ty Dillon returns to the No. 3 Rheem Chevrolet Camaro for Richard Childress Racing.
  • Darrell Wallace, Jr. will have Disney Pixar Cars 3 on his No. 6 Ford Mustang for Roush Fenway Racing. After Pocono, Roush Fenway has announced that the No. 6 team will suspend operations.
  • Justin Allgaier will have Allan Myers as the primary sponsor on his No. 7 Chevrolet Camaro for JR Motorsports.
  • Daniel Suarez returns in the No. 18 Juniper Toyota Camry for Joe Gibbs Racing.
  • Kyle Benjamin returns to the No. 20 Hisense Toyota Camry for Joe Gibbs Racing.
  • Brad Keselowski returns in the No. 22 SKF Ford Mustang for Team Penske.
  • Kyle Larson returns to the No. 42 ParkerStore Chevrolet Camaro for Chip Ganassi Racing.
  • Casey Mears will fill-in for Aric Almirola the No. 98 Fresh From Florida Ford Mustang for Biagi-Denbeste Racing.

Where and When to Watch (All Times Eastern)

Practice 1: Friday, June 9, at 1:00 p.m. on Fox Sports 1

Practice 2: Friday, June 9, at 3:00 p.m. on Fox Sports 1

Qualifying: Saturday, June 10, at 9:30 a.m. on Fox Sports 1

Race: Saturday, June 10, at 1:00 p.m. on FOX, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, and the Motor Racing Network.

Tags : , , , , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.