Photo: Daniel Shirey/Getty Images

Previewing the NASCAR Xfinity Series US Cellular 250 at Iowa

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer

19 races into the NASCAR Xfinity Series season, only three of the NASCAR Xfinity Series regulars (Justin Allgaier, Ryan Reed, and William Byron three times) have scored victories during the 2017 season.

This weekend the NASCAR Xfinity Series travels to Iowa Speedway for the US Cellular 250 Presented by American Ethanol. Sadler continues to lead the Championship Point standings, despite not scoring a win. He leads with 40 points over his JR Motorsports teammate, Byron.

The last time the Xfinity Series visited the Iowa Speedway, Byron took the victory in thrilling fashion. He held off Ryan Sieg, Ross Chastain, Tyler Reddick, and Dakota Armstrong on a restart with just 10 laps to go. Byron crossed the line with 1.140 seconds to spare over Sieg.

Former winners in Saturday’s field include Byron, Elliott Sadler, and Sam Hornish, Jr. Hornish has two wins (2014 and 2016), Sadler one in 2012, and Byron earlier this year.

Xfinity Series Championship

Only seven NASCAR Xfinity Series regulars that have Playoff points. Byron leads the series with 17 Playoff Points. Allgaier has seven Playoff points, Reed has five, while Sadler has five Playoff points. Brendan Gaughan, Daniel Hemric, and Blake Koch have a single Playoff point each.

At Iowa, the first stage ends on lap 60, the second stage on lap 120, and the final stage on lap 250.

What to Watch for in the US Cellular 250 Presented by American Ethanol

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • Ben Kennedy returns to the No. 2 RTP / Rheem Chevrolet Camaro for Richard Childress Racing.
  • Brian Scott returns to the NASCAR Xfinity Series in the No. 3 Daniel Defense Chevrolet Camaro for Richard Childress Racing.
  • Kyle Benjamin returns in the No. 18 Reser’s Toyota Camry for Joe Gibbs Racing.
  • Ryan Preece returns to the No. 20 MoHawk Northeast Inc. Toyota Camry for Joe Gibbs Racing.
  • Sam Hornish, Jr. returns to the No. 22 Discount Tire Ford Mustang for Team Penske.
  • Dylan Lupton returns to the No. 24 Nut Up Toyota Camry for JGL Racing.
  • Tyler Reddick returns to the No. 42 BBR / Jason Aldean Chevrolet Camaro for Chip Ganassi Racing.
  • Ty Majeski returns in the No. 60 Bit-O-Honey Ford Mustang for Roush Fenway Racing.
  • Brendan Gaughan will have US Cellular as the primary sponsor of his No. 62 Chevrolet Camaro for Richard Childress Racing.
  • Brett Moffitt will be in the No. 96 Northland Foundations Chevrolet Camaro for GMS Racing.

Where and When to Watch (All Times Eastern)

Practice 1: Friday, July 28, at 5:00 p.m. on NBCSN

Practice 2: Friday, July 28, at 6:30 p.m. on NBCSN

Qualifying: Saturday, July 29, at 12:05 p.m. on NBC Sports Live Extra (Online)

Race: Saturday, July 29, at 3:30 p.m. on NBC, NBC Sports Live Extra, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, and the Motor Racing Network.

Tags : , , , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.