Photo: Jonathan Moore/NASCAR via Getty Images

Previewing the Xfinity Series Road America 180 at Road America

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer

The last time the NASCAR Xfinity Series visited Road America, Paul Menard took home the victory in beating Ryan Blaney by just over half a second. The highest finishing NASCAR Xfinity Series regular was Brian Scott who finished third.

Brandan Gaughan is the only past winner at Road America in the field this weekend.

Xfinity Series Chase

22 races into the 2016 Xfinity Series Season, there have been 13 different winners, and only three of them, Erik Jones, Elliott Sadler, and Daniel Suarez are currently locked into the Xfinity Series Chase via wins. The reason why these three drivers are the only only ones locked into the Xfinity Series Chase is because they are the only Xfinity Series regulars that are competing in the entire season that have so far reached victory lane. With just four races left before the Chase, time may be beginning to run out for other Xfinity Series regulars to score a victory and lock themselves into the Chase.

Currently, the other drivers who would be in the Chase on points are Justin Allgaier, Ty Dillon, Brendan Gaughan, Brandon Jones, Brennan Poole, Darrell Wallace Jr., Ryan Reed, Black Koch, and Ryan Sieg. Sieg currently has a 15 point lead over Ross Chastain, who is 13th in the series standings, and is currently first driver on the outside, looking in. Dillon, Allgaier, Gaughan, Poole, Brandon Jones, and Wallace Jr., are all over 100 points ahead of the Chase cut-off.

What to Watch For

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • Will a Cup Series regular win again, or will an Xfinity Series regular take the win?
  • Will a road racing specialist win?
  • Will we see the seventh different winner at Road America?
  • Many Xfinity Series regulars are looking at scoring their first win of the season and to lock themselves into the Xfinity Series Chase.
  • Will weather in the forecast play a factor as rain tires are a possibility for being used.
  • Points leader Elliott Sadler is looking extend his 51 point lead even further over Daniel Suarez.
  • Michael McDowell will be in the No. 2 Rheem Chevrolet Camaro for Richard Childress Racing.
  • Alon Day returns after a strong run in his debut at Mid-Ohio. Day will be in the No. 13 Dodge Challenger for Carl Long’s MB Motorsports.
  • Owen Kelly will be in the No. 18 Toyota Camry for Joe Gibbs Racing.
  • Alex Tagliani will be in the No. 22 Ford Mustang for Team Penske.
  • Justin Marks returns for another start in the No. 42 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Camaro.
  • Nic Hammann returns for another start in Mike Harmon’s No. 74 Dodge Challenger.
  • Kenny Habul returns for another run in the JR Motorsports ‘All-Star No. 88 Car.’
  • Sunoco Rookie points leader Erik Jones looks to extend his 26 point lead over Brandon Jones, Brennan Poole, and the other rookie of the year contenders.
  • The only NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regular in the field this weekend is Michael McDowell.

Where and When to Watch

Qualifying: Friday, August 26th, at 6:30pm Eastern NBC Sports Live Extra

Race: Friday, August 27th, at 3:00pm Eastern on NBCSN, NBC Sports Live Extra, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, and the Motor Racing Network.

Tags : , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *