aj foyt Tag

By David Morgan, Associate Editor INDIANAPOLIS – Jimmie Johnson is already part of an exclusive club with a membership of three, having won seven NASCAR Cup Series championships, but if all goes to plan on Sunday, he could be joining another elite fraternity of drivers – those that have won both the Daytona 500 and the Indianapolis 500. Currently, only two legendary drivers, Mario Andretti and AJ Foyt, have accomplished the feat of winning the biggest race in open wheel and the biggest race in stock cars. Johnson will be lookingRead More
By Luis Torres, Staff Writer All throughout last month’s 46th Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach, the main focus was towards the three-man battle for the NTT IndyCar Series championship. It wasn’t the only storyline that took place as a slew of news occurred, notably Andretti Autosport signing Romain Grosjean to drive the No. 28 DHL Honda next season. While those were significant news stories, there was one angle I wanted to focus. That angle where I needed to challenge myself and provide a different outlook to the world of openRead More
By Luis Torres, Staff Writer This year’s Indianapolis 500 will mark 60 years since A.J. Foyt etched his face onto the Borg-Warner Trophy for the first time. To honor “Super Tex’s” maiden Indy 500 triumph, his race team announced Thursday its fourth driver for next month’s race. J.R. Hildebrand will be piloting the redesigned 1961 throwback livery with ABC Supply sponsoring the effort. Perhaps the one thing that stood out was the fact the fourth entry will have the No. 1 plate in their Chevrolet powered Indy car. The year thatRead More
By Luis Torres, Staff Writer Bryant Heating and Cooling Systems have been involved in Indy car racing when it first sponsored six-time Indianapolis 500 top-10 finisher Eddie Johnson in 1958. Fast forward 62 years, the company are still going strong as they’ll be sponsoring Tony Kanaan in the Iowa INDYCAR 250s at Iowa Speedway. Bryant has been Kanaan’s associate sponsor for 13 out of the last 14 years, but they’ve stepped up their game as they’ll don the red and white No. 14 Chevrolet this doubleheader weekend. “We’re pleased to beRead More
By INDYCAR FORT WORTH, Texas (June 6, 2020) – Scott Dixon continued his drive into INDYCAR history, powering away from the field on a late restart to win the Genesys 300 on Saturday night at Texas Motor Speedway and adding to his growing list of superlatives. RESULTS: 2020 Genesys 300 Five-time NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion Dixon drove his No. 9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda to a victory over the No. 22 DXC Technology Team Penske Chevrolet of Simon Pagenaud. Reigning series champion and 2019 Texas winner Josef Newgarden, whoRead More
By Luis Torres, Staff Writer Back in the full-time saddle in the NTT IndyCar Series will be Charlie Kimball, who’ll be running a whole campaign in A.J. Foyt Racing’s No. 4 Novo Nordisk Chevrolet after only competing in just seven races for Carlin in 2019. Kimball’s tenure with Foyt begins this Saturday at Texas Motor Speedway. “The Lone Star State” also happens to be one of two venues the three-car effort (Kimball, Dalton Kellett and Tony Kanaan) operates as they have a race shop in both Indianapolis and Waller (over 40Read More
By Luis Torres, Staff Writer John Andretti, 56, passed away after his long and courageous battle with colon cancer Thursday. The nephew of Mario Andretti has raced in multiple disciplines such as open wheels, dirt sprint cars, stock cars, sports cars and even drag racing throughout his four-decade long career. Accolades include an overall win in the 1989 24 Hours at Daytona, a single Indy car victory at Surfers Paradise in 1991, and winning two NASCAR Cup Series races while driving for the sport’s greatest legends — Cale Yarborough in 1997Read More
By Holly Cain, IMSA Wire Service SEBRING, Fla. – A night of fond memories and legendary efforts highlighted the 2018 Sebring Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Grand Marshal Dinner Friday night at the Chateau Elan hotel located alongside Sebring International Raceway’s famous hairpin turn. The great A.J. Foyt, the late Paul Newman, drivers Rinaldo “Dino” Capello, the Joest Racing team and the local Sebring Firemen civic organization were bestowed Hall of Fame honors in a packed dining hall that included other racing greats from Roger Penske to Bobby Rahal,Read More
By Christopher DeHarde, IndyCar & Road to Indy Writer SPEEDWAY, Indiana — A.J. Foyt Racing today announced that Tony Kanaan will pilot the No. 14 ABC Supply Chevrolet in the 2018 Verizon IndyCar Series season. Kanaan leaves Chip Ganassi Racing after four seasons to join the Foyt team after scoring one win and 20 top five finishes. Kanaan will be bringing his engineer Eric Cowdin to the team with which he won the 2013 Indianapolis 500. Team president Larry Foyt said that the deal came about thanks to where both heRead More
By Christopher DeHarde, IndyCar & Road to Indy Writer A past Indy Lights front-runner will be making his debut in the 101st Indianapolis 500 on May 28th as Zach Veach will be driving the No. 40 Indy Women in Tech Championship presented by Guggenheim Chevrolet for A.J. Foyt Racing. The team’s announcement confirms that 2017 will be the third year in a row where the team will field a third car in the Indianapolis 500 after having Alex Tagliani joining the teams’ drivers the last two years. The 22-year-old Ohio nativeRead More