Photo: Chris Owens/INDYCAR

Zach Veach to Make Indianapolis 500 Debut with AJ Foyt Racing

By Christopher DeHarde, IndyCar & Road to Indy Writer

A past Indy Lights front-runner will be making his debut in the 101st Indianapolis 500 on May 28th as Zach Veach will be driving the No. 40 Indy Women in Tech Championship presented by Guggenheim Chevrolet for A.J. Foyt Racing.

The team’s announcement confirms that 2017 will be the third year in a row where the team will field a third car in the Indianapolis 500 after having Alex Tagliani joining the teams’ drivers the last two years.

The 22-year-old Ohio native will be joined by Carlos Munoz, a two-time Indy 500 runner-up, and Conor Daly, the 2010 Pro Mazda champion (then known as Star Mazda).

Veach will be looking forward to leaning on his newfound teammates.

“I’ve just got to learn from everybody around me,” Veach said. “I’m really ecstatic to have the team that I do, with A.J.’s experience, Larry’s, Carlos and Conor. I worked with Carlos the first year of Indy Lights. He’s what made me be able to go into Indy Lights in 2014 and almost win that title. Really looking forward to that because he is so fast at Indy. I don’t have to tell you guys that he’s definitely going to be one of the guys to win it in a few years.”

He’ll have another hand helping guide him with A.J. Foyt, who is looking forward to helping Veach as well as the rest of his team as all three drivers are 25 years old or younger.

“I always liked to work with young people. I think that’s how you build winners, is with young people,” said Foyt. ”

When you get actually so old, you’re just not going to win. Young guns, they want to win. That’s what we’re looking for.”

The Indy Women in Tech Championship presented by Guggenheim is an LPGA tournament that will be September 4-9 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway golf course.

Tags : , , , ,

A 2012 graduate of LSU, Christopher DeHarde primarily focuses on the NTT IndyCar Series and the WeatherTech Sports Car Championship. DeHarde has actively covered motorsports since 2014.