Robert Yates Tag

By Reid Spencer, NASCAR Wire Service CHARLOTTE, N.C. – The distinguished NASCAR Hall of Fame class of 2018 includes a formidable array of eclectic talent: NASCAR’s first champion, arguably the sport’s most innovative crew chief, racing’s most recognizable voice, the Camping World Truck Series’ all-time leading winner and a revered engine-builder-turned car owner. The first member of the 2018 class inducted on Friday night at the NASCAR Hall of Fame, Red Byron, was a man of many “firsts.” He won NASCAR’s first sanctioned race on the Daytona Beach Road CourseRead More
By Holly Cain, NASCAR Wire Service Note: This is the second in a five-part series of features detailing the careers of each of the five inductees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2018. The inductees, who will be officially enshrined on Jan. 19 (8 p.m. ET on NBCSN, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio), are Red Byron, Ray Evernham, Ron Hornaday Jr., Ken Squier and Robert Yates. For tickets to the Induction Ceremony, visit  CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Robert Yates showed up at the NASCAR Hall of Fame that lateRead More
By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer When Ricky Stenhouse Jr. takes to the track at Phoenix Raceway this weekend, he will be driving a very special car. The Roush Fenway Racing team will pay tribute to their longtime competitor, engine partner, and 2018 NASCAR Hall of Famer Robert Yates. The paint scheme echoes the one used by Davey Allison when he won at Phoenix in 1991 and 1992 while driving for Yates. Yates passed away in October after a lengthy battle with Liver Cancer. Earlier this year in May, he wasRead More
DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (May 24, 2017) – NASCAR announced today the inductees who will comprise the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2018. The five-person group – the ninth since the inception of the NASCAR Hall of Fame in 2010 – consists of Red Byron, Ray Evernham, Ron Hornaday Jr., Ken Squier and Robert Yates. In addition, NASCAR announced that Jim France earned the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR. The NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Panel met today in a closed session at the Charlotte Convention Center toRead More
By David Morgan, NASCAR Writer For all of those who participate in NASCAR, from drivers to car owners, crew chiefs, and media members, the upper echelon of the sport is earning a place in the NASCAR Hall of Fame. On Wednesday, the nominating committee for the Hall of Fame announced the 20 names of those who will get their chance to be enshrined among the legends of the sport. Fifteen of the nominees are those who were carried over from last season, but there were also five new nominees looking toRead More