Nominees for 2017 NASCAR Hall of Fame Announced

By David Morgan, NASCAR Writer

For all of those who participate in NASCAR, from drivers to car owners, crew chiefs, and media members, the upper echelon of the sport is earning a place in the NASCAR Hall of Fame. On Wednesday, the nominating committee for the Hall of Fame announced the 20 names of those who will get their chance to be enshrined among the legends of the sport.

Fifteen of the nominees are those who were carried over from last season, but there were also five new nominees looking to make it into the Hall on their first try.

The 15 nominees that were carried over from last season include such greats as:

Buddy Baker – Won 19 times in NASCAR’s premier (now Sprint Cup) series, including the Daytona 500 and Southern 500

Red Byron – First NASCAR premier series champion in 1949

Richard Childress – 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series

Ray Evernham – Three-time NASCAR premier series championship crew chief

Ray Fox – Legendary engine builder, crew chief and car owner

Rick Hendrick – 14-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series

Harry Hyde – 1970 NASCAR premier series championship crew chief

Alan Kulwicki – 1992 NASCAR premier series champion

Mark Martin – 96-time race winner in NASCAR national series competition

Hershel McGriff – 1986 NASCAR west series champion

Raymond Parks – NASCAR’s first champion car owner

Benny Parsons – 1973 NASCAR premier series champion

Larry Phillips – Only five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion

Mike Stefanik – Winner of record-tying nine NASCAR championships

Robert Yates – Won NASCAR premier series championship as both an engine builder and owner

Those 15 will be joined by five new nominees to make up the 20 nominee field and the five new names added to the list are:

Ron Hornaday – Four-time NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion

Jack Roush – Five-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series

Ricky Rudd – Won 23 times in NASCAR’s premier series, including the 1997 Brickyard 400

Ken Squier – Legendary radio and television broadcaster; inaugural winner/namesake of Squier-Hall Award for NASCAR Media Excellence

Waddell Wilson – Won three NASCAR premier series championships as an engine builder

Along with the 20 nominees to go into the Hall of Fame, the nominating committee also announced the five nominees for the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR. Those five names include: H. Clay Earles, founder of Martinsville Speedway; Janet Guthrie, the first female to compete in a NASCAR premier series superspeedway race; Raymond Parks, NASCAR’s first champion car owner; Ralph Seagraves, who formed groundbreaking Winston-NASCAR partnership as executive with R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company; and Ken Squier, legendary radio and television broadcaster; inaugural winner / namesake of Squier-Hall Award for NASCAR Media Excellence, who also is on the list of nominees for the Hall of Fame.

The 2017 NASCAR Hall of Fame class will be chosen on Wednesday, May 25 in a ceremony held at the Hall of Fame.

Photo by Streeter Lecka/NASCAR via Getty Images

Tags : , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

David Morgan is the Associate Editor for Motorsports Tribune. A 2008 graduate from the University of Mississippi, David has followed NASCAR since the early 90’s and became hooked at an early age after attending his first race at Talladega Superspeedway in 1993. He has traveled across the country since 2012 to cover some of the most prestigious events both IndyCar and NASCAR have to offer, with an aim to only expand on that in the near future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *