Photo: Jerry Markland/Getty Images

Up to Speed: Buckle Up in Your Truck 225 at Kentucky Preview

By Seth Eggert, Staff Writer 

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series regulars have won nine of the 11 races so far in the 2018 season. For the 12th race of the season, the series visits the 1.5-mile Kentucky Speedway for the Buckle Up in Your Truck 225. Teams using the NT1 Spec Engine versus those using OEM engines, no Cup drivers, and stage racing are just some of the storylines heading into the 12th race of the season at Kentucky.

Coverage for the Buckle Up in Your Truck 225 is scheduled to start Thursday night at 7:30 p.m. ET. Kentucky has been on the Truck Series schedule since the track opened in 2000. The track has twice hosted the 12thrace of the Truck Series season (2000 and 2009). In 20 races at the 1.5-mile Tri- Oval, 16 drivers have claimed victory.

The last time Ford won at the track in the Truck Series was in 2000. Toyota has swept the last four Kentucky Truck races. The last six Kentucky races have produced six different winners.

The last time the Truck Series visited Kentucky Speedway, Christopher Bell earned the victory in dramatic fashion. Bell held off his future teammate, Brandon Jones to win by 0.187 seconds. Seven drivers that finished in the top-10 that day are entered in Thursday night’s race. Matt Crafton is the only former winner entered in the race.

By the Numbers

What: Buckle Up in Your Truck 225, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Race 12

Where: Kentucky Speedway – Sparta, Kentucky (Opened: 2000)

TV/Radio:Fox Sports 1, 7:30 p.m. ET / MRN and SiriusXM Channel 90

Track Size: 1.5-Mile Tri-Oval

Banking: 17 degrees in turns 1 & 2, 14 degrees in turns 3 & 4, 8-10 degrees in the Tri-Oval, and 4 degrees on the backstretch.

Race Length: 150 Laps, 225 Miles (Three Stages, 35/70/150)

2017 Race Winner:Christopher Bell – No. 4 Toyota Tundra (Started second, 54 laps led).

Track Qualifying Record: Daniel Suarez (182.983 mph – 2016).

Storylines Heading into the Buckle Up in Your Truck 225:

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • Todd Gilliland will have Mobil 1 as the primary sponsor of his No. 4 Toyota Tundra for Kyle Busch Motorsports.
  • Korbin Forrister returns in the No. 7 Now Matters More Toyota Tundra for All Out Motorsports.
  • John Hunter Nemechek returns in the No. 8 Chevrolet Silverado for NEMCO Motorsports.
  • Robby Lyons returns in the No. 15 Sunwest Construction Chevrolet Silverado for Premium Motorsports.
  • Brett Moffitt will be in the No. 16 ADVICS / AISIN GROUP Toyota Tundra for Hattori Racing Enterprises.
  • Chris Eggleston returns in the No. 17 BlazeMaster Fire Protection Systems / CROSLEY BRANDS Toyota Tundra for DGR – CROSLEY Group.
  • Tate Fogleman returns in the No. 20 Young’s Building Systems Chevrolet Silverado for Young’s Motorsports.
  • Brandon Jones returns in the No. 51 SoleusAir / Menards Toyota Tundra for Kyle Busch Motorsports.
  • Bo LeMastus returns in the No. 54 Crosley Brands \ Toyota Tundra for DGR – CROSLEY Group.
  • Clay Greenfield returns in his No. 68 AMVETS Please Stand Chevrolet Silverado.
  • Parker Kligerman returns in the No. 75 Food Country USA Chevrolet Silverado for Henderson Motorsports.

Weekend Schedule (All Times Eastern)

Thursday, June 28

  • NCWTS Practice 1 (9:05 a.m. – 9:55 a.m.)
  • NCWTS Practice 2 (11:05 a.m. – 11:55 a.m.)
  • NCWTS Qualifying (5:10 p.m. on Fox Sports 1)
  • NCWTS Buckle Up in Your Truck 225 (7:30 p.m. – 150 laps, 225 miles – on Fox Sports 1, SiriusXM Channel 90, and the Motor Racing Network)

Tags : , , , , , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.