Photo: Jeff Curry/Getty Images

Up to Speed: M&M’s 200 at Iowa Preview

By Seth Eggert, Staff Writer

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series regulars have won six of the eight races so far in the 2018 season. For the ninth race of the season, the series visits 0.875-mile Iowa Speedway for the M&M’s 200. Teams using the NT1 Spec Engine versus those using OEM engines, no Cup drivers, and stage racing are just some of the storylines heading into the seventh race of the season at Iowa.

Coverage for the M&M’s 200 is scheduled to start Saturday night at 9:00 p.m. ET. Iowa has been on the Truck Series schedule since the 2009 season and has been the ninth race on the schedule just five times. In 11 races at the 0.875-mile Tri-Oval, nine drivers have claimed victory. Ford has never won at the track.

The last time the Truck Series visited Iowa Speedway, John Hunter Nemechek earned the victory in exciting fashion. Nemechek grabbed the lead on the final restart, leading the last six laps. He beat Johnny Sauter to the line by 1.652 seconds. Six drivers that finished in the top-10 that day are entered in Friday night’s race. Nemechek and Matt Crafton are the only former winners entered in the race.

By the Numbers

What: M&M’s 200, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Race Nine

Where: Iowa Speedway – Newton, Iowa (Opened: 2006)

TV/Radio: Fox Sports 1, 9:00 p.m. ET / MRN and SiriusXM Channel 90

Track Size: 0.875-Mile Tri-Oval

Banking: 12-14 degrees in the turns, 10 degrees on the frontstretch, and 4 degrees on the backstretch.

Race Length: 200 Laps, 175 Miles (Three Stages, 60/120/200)

2017 Race Winner:John Hunter Nemechek – No. 8 Fire Alarm Services Chevrolet Silverado (Started fifth, six laps led).

Track Qualifying Record: German Quiroga (138.62 mph – 2013).

Storylines Heading into the M&M’s 200:

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • Cory Roper returns in his No. 04 Preferred Industrial Contractors, Inc. Ford F-150.
  • Todd Gilliland will have JBL / SiriusXM as the primary sponsor of his No. 4 Toyota Tundra for Kyle Busch Motorsports.
  • John Hunter Nemechek returns in the No. 8 Chevrolet Silverado for NEMCO Motorsports.
  • Reid Wilson returns in the No. 12 TruNorth Chevrolet Silverado for Young’s Motorsports.
  • Bobby Reuse will make his first start of the season in the No. 15 Chevrolet Silverado for Premium Motorsports.
  • Brett Moffitt will have Destiny Homes as the primary sponsor of his No. 16 Toyota Tundra for Hattori Racing Enterprises.
  • Tanner Thorson returns in the No. 20 GoShare Chevrolet Silverado for Young’s Motorsports.
  • Christian Eckes will make his NCWTS debut in the No. 46 Mobil 1 Toyota Tundra for Kyle Busch Motorsports
  • Harrison Burton returns to the No. 51 Morton Buildings Toyota Tundra for Kyle Busch Motorsports.
  • Bo Le Mastus will be in the No. 54 Crosley Brands Toyota Tundra for David Gilliland Racing – CROSLEY Group.
  • Jesse Little returns in the No. 97 Ford F-150 for JJL Motorsports.

Weekend Schedule (All Times Eastern)

Saturday, June 16

  • NCWTS Practice (9:35 a.m. – 10:25 a.m.)
  • NCWTS Qualifying (4:30 p.m. on Fox Sports 2)
  • NCWTS M&M’s 200 (9:00 p.m. – 200 laps, 175 miles – on Fox Sports 1, SiriusXM Channel 90, and the Motor Racing Network)

Tags : , , , , , , , , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.