Photo: Justin R. Noe/ASP Inc.

Up to Speed: ToyotaCare 250 at Richmond Preview

By Seth Eggert, Staff Writer

It’s the eighth race of the season and only one full-time NASCAR Xfinity Series regular has scored a victory. The Xfinity Series returns to Richmond Raceway for the ToyotaCare 250. The Xfinity Dash 4 Cash, zero Cup drivers, and stage racing are just some of the storylines heading into the eighth race of the season.

Coverage for the ToyotaCare 250 is scheduled to start Friday night at 7:00 p.m. ET. Richmond Raceway has hosted the eighth race of the season since the 2014 season. In 68 races at the 0.750-mile Tri-Oval, 35 drivers have claimed victory. The last time a Xfinity Series regular competing exclusively in the Xfinity Series won at Bristol Motor Speedway was Chase Elliott in 2015. Jeff Green is the only former winner entered in Friday’s race.

The last time the Xfinity Series visited Richmond Raceway, Brad Keselowski took the victory in exciting fashion. Keselowski took the lead from Kyle Busch with 15 laps to go on his way to a 3.008 second victory over his fellow Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series regular. Daniel Hemric was the highest finish Xfinity regular in fourth.

By the Numbers

What:ToyotaCare 250, NASCAR Xfinity Series Race Eight

Where: Richmond Raceway – Henrico County, Virginia (Opened: 1946)

TV/Radio: Fox Sports 1, 7:00 p.m. ET / MRN and SiriusXM Channel 90

Track Size: 0.750-mile Tri-Oval

Banking: 14 degrees in the turns, 8 degrees on the frontstretch, and 2 degrees on the backstretch.

Race Length: 250 Laps, 188 Miles (Three Stages, 75/150/250)

2017 Race Winner:Kyle Larson – No. 42 Credit One Bank Chevrolet Camaro SS (Started seventh, 10 laps led).

Track Qualifying Record: Kyle Busch (20.874 seconds, 129.348 mph – 2004).

Storylines Heading into the ToyotaCare 250:

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • The Four drivers going for the Xfinity Dash 4 Cash are Elliott Sadler, Justin Allgaier, Daniel Hemric, and Spencer Gallagher.
  • Cole Custer will have Code 3 Associates as the primary sponsor of his No. 00 Ford Mustang for Stewart-Haas Racing.
  • Jeb Burton will make his first start of the season in the No. 3 Chevrolet Camaro SS for Richard Childress Racing.
  • Noah Gragson will make his NASCAR Xfinity Series debut in the No. 18 Switch Toyota Camry for Joe Gibbs Racing.
  • Austin Cindric will be in the No. 22 Fitzgerald Glider Kits Ford Mustang for Team Penske.
  • Tony Mrakovich will make his NASCAR Xfinity Series debut in the No. 28 Smart Emissions Reducer Ford Mustang for JGL Racing. He was replaced at Bristol with Dylan Lupton.
  • Mike D’s BBQ will be the primary sponsor of Ryan Sieg’s No. 39 RSS Racing Chevrolet Camaro SS.
  • John Hunter Nemechek returns to the No. 42 Fire Alarm Services Chevrolet Camaro SS for Chip Ganassi Racing.
  • Chase Briscoe returns to the No. 60 Nutri Chomps Ford Mustang for Roush Fenway Racing.
  • Brandon Brown returns to the No. 90 W.G. Speeks Chevrolet Camaro SS for King Autosport.

Weekend Schedule (All Times Eastern)

Friday, April 20

  • NXS Practice 1 (8:00 a.m. – 8:45 a.m., no TV)
  • NXS Practice 2 (9:40 a.m. – 10:25 a.m., on Fox Sports 1)
  • NXS Qualifying (4:05 p.m., on Fox Sports 1)
  • NXS ToyotaCare 250 (7:00 p.m. – 250 laps, 188 miles – on Fox Sports 1, SiriusXM Channel 90, and the Motor Racing Network)

Tags : , , , , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.