Photo: Matt Sullivan/NASCAR via Getty Images

Previewing the NASCAR CWTS 400 at Texas

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer

The last time the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series visited Texas Motor Speedway, Johnny Sauter took home the victory in thrilling fashion. Sauter beat Matt Crafton by 0.836 seconds to take the victory. The only cautions in the race were those for the caution clock.

Crafton and Sauter are the only former winner in the Truck Series at Texas in the field this weekend.

NASCAR Xfinity Series regular Matt Mills is also entered in the race.

Truck Series Championship

Christopher Bell, Kaz Grala, Ryan Truex, Crafton, and Sauter are the only three drivers with Playoff points. Sauter has eight Playoff Points, with Bell having seven, Grala has five, while Crafton and Truex have one each.

At Texas, the first stage ends on lap 40, the second stage on lap 80, and the final stage on lap 167.

Texas Motor Speedway

During the offseason, Texas Motor Speedway underwent an extensive repaving and reconfiguration project. The grade of turns one and two have been lowered from 24 degrees of banking to 20 degrees. This also increases the racing surface from 60 feet to 80 feet. Aside from new pavement, turns three and four remain unchanged.

What to Watch For

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • Tyler Young will be in the No. 02 Randco / Young’s Building Systems Chevrolet Silverado for Young’s Motorsports. Young will have a new crew chief as Chad Kendrick will be on top of the pit box.
  • John Hunter Nemechek will have ROMCO Equipment Co as the primary sponsor for his No. 8 NEMCO Motorsports Chevrolet Silverado.
  • Ryan Truex will have H.E.B. Grocery Store as the primary sponsor for his No. 16 Hattori Racing Enterprises Toyota Tundra.
  • Austin Wayne Self returns in the No. 22 Don’t Mess With Texas Toyota Tundra for AM Racing.
  • Pending a possible appeal, Chase Briscoe could be without crew chief Mike Hillman Jr., as well as his front tire changer and carrier, for four weeks after being penalized for an improper installation of a wheel at Dover.
  • Matt Mills returns in the No. 44 Chevrolet Silverado for Faith Motorsports.
  • Myatt Snider will be in the No. 51 Louisiana Hot Sauce Toyota Tundra for Kyle Busch Motorsports.
  • Travis Kvapil will be in the No. 66 Chevrolet Silverado for Bolen Motorsports.
  • Todd Peck will be in the No. 83 Chevrolet Silverado for Copp Motorsports
  • Timothy Peters returns in the No. 99 Metabo Chevrolet Silverado for MDM Motorsports.

Where and When to Watch (All Times Eastern)

Practice 1: Thursday, June 8, 4:00 p.m., not televised.

Practice 2: Thursday, June 8, 6:00 p.m., not televised.

Practice 3: Thursday, June 8, 8:00 p.m., not televised.

Qualifying: Friday, June 9, 5:30 p.m., not televised.

Race: Friday, June 9, 8:00 p.m. on Fox Sports 1, SiriusXM Channel 90, and the Motor Racing Network.

Tags : , , , , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.