Photo: Jeff Zelevansky/NASCAR via Getty Images

Previewing the NCWTS Chevrolet Silverado 250

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer

The last time the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series visited Canadian Tire Motorsports Park (CTMP), Erik Jones took home the victory, beating Matt Crafton by over 1.5 seconds. There are no past winners entered in this weekend’s race, guaranteeing a fourth different winner at CTMP.

Truck Series Chase

14 races into the 2016 Camping World Truck Series Season, there have been nine different winners. Three of those winners, Brett Moffitt, Kyle Busch, and Kyle Larson, are not eligible for the Truck Series Chase. Matt Crafton, William Byron, John Hunter Nemechek, Johnny Sauter, Christopher Bell, and Ben Kennedy have all won at least one race, and are now locked in the Chase thanks to those wins. With just two races left in the regular season, and two Chase spots up for grabs, many will be fighting for a win and a Chase berth.

The other drivers currently in the Chase on points are Daniel Hemric and Timothy Peters. Peters currently has a 50 point lead over Cole Custer, the first driver on the outside looking in.

Brett Moffitt, Red Horse Racing, and The Owners Chase

Brett Moffitt’s win in the No. 11 Toyota Tundra for Red Horse Racing at Michigan International Speedway did more than simply lock those with wins into the Chase for the Championship. Moffitt’s win moves the No. 11 Toyota Tundra into the Chase for the Owners Championship. The No. 9 (Byron), No. 21 (Sauter), No. 88 (Crafton), No. 33 (Kennedy), No. 4 (Bell), and No. 8 (Nemechek) are the other trucks currently in the Owners Chase.

In comparison to the Chase for the Driver’s Championship, this currently bumps the other Red Horse Racing truck, the No. 17 Toyota Tundra of Timothy Peters out of the Owners Championship. Peters is currently in the Drivers Chase on points. This now leads to the possibility of a split championship in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series for 2016.

The No. 19 Ford F-150 of Brad Keselowski Racing, driven by Daniel Hemric, is currently the last truck in the Owners Chase on points, just eight points ahead of the No. 17.

What to Watch For

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • Many Truck Series regulars are looking at scoring their first win of the season and to lock themselves into the Truck Series Chase.
  • Cody Ware will be in the No. 07 Lilly Trucking Chervolet Silverado for SS-Greenlight Racing.
  • Austin Cindric returns in the No. 2 Ford F-150 for Brad Keselowski Racing.
  • Kaz Grala will be in the No. 24 Descartes Chevrolet Silverado once again for GMS Racing.
  • Justin Haley returns in the No. 32 DynamiClear Chervolet Silverado for Todd Braun.
  • NASCAR Next driver Gary Klutt will make his series debut in the No. 51 JEGS/UDMC/Bothwell-Accurate Toyota Tundra for Kyle Busch Motorsports. Klutt is subbing for Cody Coughlin who had a scheduling conflict.
  • Camden Murphy will to the No. 71 American Club Chevrolet Silverado for Contreras Motorsports.
  • Ryan Truex returns in the No. 81 Toyota Tundra.
  • Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender William Byron looks to increase his 74 point lead on teammate Christopher Bell. Meanwhile, Cole Custer, Ben Rhodes, and Rico Abreu continue to try to gain ground on the rookie point leaders.
  • Points leader William Byron is looking to extend his 36 point lead over Daniel Hemric.

Where and When to Watch (All Times Eastern)

Qualifying: Saturday, September 3rd, 5:45pm on Fox Sports 2

Race: Sunday, September 4th, 2:30pm on Fox Sports 1, SiriusXM Channel 90, MRN Radio

Tags : , , , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *