Photo: Jared C. Tilton/NASCAR via Getty Images

Previewing the Camping World Truck Series Rattlesnake 400 at Texas

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer

The last time the NASCAR Camping World Series visited Texas Motor Speedway, Erik Jones took home the victory. With the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series in Michigan this week, there will not be any Cup Series regulars entered in this weekend’s event.

Matt Crafton is the only former Texas Motor Speedway winner in the field, having won twice in the past four visits to the track.

Truck Series Chase

Six races into the 2016 Camping World Truck Series Season, there have been five different winners. Only one of those winners, Kyle Busch, is not eligible for the Truck Series Chase. Matt Crafton, William Byron, John Hunter Nemechek, and Johnny Sauter have all won at least one race, and are likely to be in the Chase thanks to those wins. Crafton, who has two wins, has likely boosted his odds of locking himself into the Truck Series Chase. The reason no winner is locked in just yet, is the fact that only eight drivers make it into the Chase in the Truck Series, and with so many races left more than eight drivers could win a race.

The other drivers currently in the Chase on points are Timothy Peters, Daniel Hemric, Spencer Gallagher, and Ryan Truex.

Ryan Truex

After scoring one top five and three top 10s in the No. 81 Toyota Tundra for Hattori Racing Enterprises, Ryan Truex will not be competing for the team at Texas Motor Speedway. A deal between Rette Jones Racing and Hattori puts Jesse Little in the No. 81 Toyota Tundra for Texas. This effectively eliminates Truex’s chances at the 2016 NASCAR Camping World Championship and it’s Chase. This should move Tyler Reddick into the final Chase position on points.

What to Watch For

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • With no Cup Series regulars in the field which Camping World Truck Series regular will step up to contend for the win?
  • Many Truck Series regulars are looking at scoring their first win of the season and to lock themselves into the Truck Series Chase, while those with a win are looking for more security with their Chase position.
  • German Quiroga returns to the series after a 19-month hiatus. Quiroga will pilot the No. 11 Toyota Tundra for Red Horse Racing.
  • Ben Kennedy continues his tenure at GMS Racing in the No. 33 Chevrolet Silverado.
  • Cody Coughlin is back in the Kyle Busch Motorsports No. 51 JEGS Toyota Tundra for his third start of the season, and fifth career start in the Truck Series.
  • Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender William Byron looks to increase his 11 point lead on teammate Christopher Bell. Meanwhile, Cole Custer, Ben Rhodes, and Rico Abreu continue to try to gain ground on the rookie point leaders.
  • Points leader Matt Crafton is looking to extend his championship points lead even further over Timothy Peters.

Tags : , , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *