Photo: Robert Laberge/NASCAR via Getty Images

Up To Speed: Previewing the Xfinity Series Menards 250 at Michigan

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer

The last time the NASCAR Xfinity Series visited Michigan International Speedway Kyle Busch took home the victory. The last time an Xfinity Series regular took home the trophy at this track was in 2013 when Regan Smith edged out Kyle Larson for the victory.

Kyle Busch, who has won four out of seven starts in the Xfinity Series this season, will be in the field once again. Busch has yet to finish lower than fourth in an Xfinity Series race this season.

Xfinity Series Chase

12 races into the 2016 Xfinity Series Season, there have been eight different winners, and only two of them, Erik Jones and Elliott Sadler are currently locked into the Xfinity Series Chase via wins. With the lack of Xfinity Series championship drivers scoring wins, both Jones and Sadler have most likely secured their spot in the 2016 Xfinity Series Chase. Currently, the other drivers who would be in the Chase on points are Daniel Saurez, Justin Allgaier, Ty Dillon, Brendan Gaughan, Brandon Jones, Brennan Poole, Darrell Wallace, Ryan Reed, Blake Koch, and Ryan Sieg.

What to Watch For

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • Will a Cup Series regular win once again, or will an Xfinity Series regular take the win?
  • Many Xfinity Series regulars are looking at scoring their first win of the season and to lock themselves into the Xfinity Series Chase.
  • Brandon Jones is also entered in this weekend’s ARCA Racing Series Corrigan Oil 200. Will his extra seat time pay off in the Xfinity Series race as it did at Pocono Raceway last weekend?
  • Will the rubber build up from the ARCA Racing Series General Tires alter the handling of the Xfinity Series cars early in the race? Will the cars act differently with the changing rubber in practice and qualifying as well?
  • Points leader Daniel Suarez is looking to extend his championship points lead even further over Elliott Sadler.
  • Sunoco Rookie of the Year Points leader Erik Jones looks to increase his two point lead over fellow rookies Brandon Jones, Brennan Poole, Ryan Preece, and Garrett Smithley.
  • Alex Bowman makes his third appearance in the JRM ‘All-Star No. 88 Car’ in the field. Justin Marks also returns for another start in the No. 42 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Camaro.
  • Sprint Cup Series regulars Joey Logano, Josh Wise, Kyle Busch, Paul Menard, Matt Dibenedetto, will be in the field.

Tags : , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *